Portraits in Motion

No more showings

Theatre
A flipbook might look like an ordinary but unusually shaped book, but appearances can be deceptive. Open it, flip its pages and you'll see a miniature movie. In Germany, home of Volker Gerling, the word for flipbook is Daumenkino – literally thumb-cinema. Gerling walked 4,000km in 15 years, photographing those he met along the way. He compiles these portraits into flipbooks which capture magical everyday encounters. Gerling returns to Edinburgh with his Total Theatre Award winning show, featuring old favourites and new faces: a gentle meeting of cinema, photography and story. 'Disarmingly beautiful' (Sydney Morning Herald).

D6b3f511dd4e3b72d28364abef1719b6e9d25827 square 150

Summerhall
  • 16:15, Wed 01 Aug 2018 (Price: £5.0)
  • 16:15, Fri 03 Aug 2018 (Price: £12.0)
  • 16:15, Sat 04 Aug 2018 (Price: £12.0)
  • 16:15, Sun 05 Aug 2018 (Price: £12.0)
  • 16:15, Tue 07 Aug 2018 (Price: £12.0)
  • 16:15, Wed 08 Aug 2018 (Price: £12.0)
  • 16:15, Thu 09 Aug 2018 (Price: £12.0)
  • 16:15, Fri 10 Aug 2018 (Price: £12.0)
  • 16:15, Sat 11 Aug 2018 (Price: £12.0)
  • 16:15, Sun 12 Aug 2018 (Price: £12.0)
  • 16:15, Tue 14 Aug 2018 (Price: £12.0)
  • 16:15, Wed 15 Aug 2018 (Price: £12.0)
  • 16:15, Thu 16 Aug 2018 (Price: £12.0)
  • 16:15, Fri 17 Aug 2018 (Price: £12.0)
  • 16:15, Sat 18 Aug 2018 (Price: £12.0)
  • 16:15, Sun 19 Aug 2018 (Price: £12.0)
  • 16:15, Tue 21 Aug 2018 (Price: £12.0)
  • 16:15, Wed 22 Aug 2018 (Price: £12.0)
  • 16:15, Thu 23 Aug 2018 (Price: £12.0)
  • 16:15, Fri 24 Aug 2018 (Price: £12.0)
  • 16:15, Sat 25 Aug 2018 (Price: £12.0)