Prisoners or Patients? Criminal Insanity in Victorian Scotland

Next showing 10:00, Mon 26 Aug 2019 at National Records of Scotland, Edinburgh

Exhibitions
This exhibition reveals the stories of prisoner-patients held in the Criminal Lunatic Department in Perth. For centuries mental illness and impairment has touched the lives of people regardless of background, sex or circumstance. Guest curator Professor Rab Houston of the University of St Andrews examines the personal histories of crime, recovery and release recorded in the archives of National Records of Scotland, raising awareness of mental disorders inside and outside prisons, past and present.

Ee1133364ce921e2415c97db111716b03b3fd8dc square 150

National Records of Scotland
  • 10:00, Thu 01 Aug 2019 (Price: £0.0)
  • 10:00, Fri 02 Aug 2019 (Price: £0.0)
  • 10:00, Mon 05 Aug 2019 (Price: £0.0)
  • 10:00, Tue 06 Aug 2019 (Price: £0.0)
  • 10:00, Wed 07 Aug 2019 (Price: £0.0)
  • 10:00, Thu 08 Aug 2019 (Price: £0.0)
  • 10:00, Fri 09 Aug 2019 (Price: £0.0)
  • 10:00, Mon 12 Aug 2019 (Price: £0.0)
  • 10:00, Tue 13 Aug 2019 (Price: £0.0)
  • 10:00, Wed 14 Aug 2019 (Price: £0.0)
  • 10:00, Thu 15 Aug 2019 (Price: £0.0)
  • 10:00, Fri 16 Aug 2019 (Price: £0.0)
  • 10:00, Mon 19 Aug 2019 (Price: £0.0)
  • 10:00, Tue 20 Aug 2019 (Price: £0.0)
  • 10:00, Wed 21 Aug 2019 (Price: £0.0)
  • 10:00, Thu 22 Aug 2019 (Price: £0.0)
  • 10:00, Today (Price: £0.0)
  • 10:00, Mon 26 Aug 2019 (Price: £0.0)
  • 10:00, Tue 27 Aug 2019 (Price: £0.0)
  • 10:00, Wed 28 Aug 2019 (Price: £0.0)
  • 10:00, Thu 29 Aug 2019 (Price: £0.0)
  • 10:00, Fri 30 Aug 2019 (Price: £0.0)